One year old: Document Liberation Project

On the list of projects-I-would-like-to-contribute-to-but-no-time-yet it is one of the top ones: the Document Liberation Project. There are quite some files from old times on my storage devices whose content is locked away in binary blobs that act like safes whose keys got lost with the software that created the files. So it’s easy to guess how I feel towards such initiatives, allowing me to regain access to my very own data 🙂

The Document Liberation Project only was founded last year officially and now can see at least it’s first birthday. Not yet picked up much steam from new contributors so far, but then already serving e.g. users of Calligra, with libraries like LibRevenge, LibOdfGen, LibWpd, LibWpg, LibWps, LibVisio, LibEtonyek etc., to read in data from files in WordPerfect, MS Works, MS Visio, and Keynote formats.

Once the port of Calligra to Qt5/KF5 and thus version 3.0 is done, I hope to finally pick up the work (see here and here) on being able to read my old Corel Draw v4 files with Karbon or Flow. Which these days surely means using LibCDR from the Document Liberation Project, instead of my own custom code. Perhaps I will then also be able to contribute a little to the project finally 🙂

While talking about that, another related thing still waiting for implementation is extending the hex editor Okteta to support the binary format grammar that I developed during the writing of my CDR import code, so Okteta’s Structures tool would be able to read in the grammar and then show the content structure. Or a combination of that grammar and the one used by msoscheme, which is used for some of Calligra’s MS format import filters, which I learned about in the meantime.
Having a standardized grammar for binary formats, which can be both used by data inspection tools like hex editors, but also for code generation, surely will be good to have. There are already some related tools also created/used by the Document Liberation Project, something to look at for more synergy effects.

Hm, filled TODO lists, but winter time with it’s long nights is over now. Too bad.

2 thoughts on “One year old: Document Liberation Project

  1. One thing that perhaps could be contributed to document liberation project would be the ability to read old Ami Pro .sam files. Apparently Kword had this feature (I have not yet checked if it still is there in Calligra words)

    • Yes, that would be good to have (also for myself, AmiPro was once my favourite document editor). The Ami Pro filters no longer exist for Words, as they were not maintained. But one could start from the old code in the repo history (see OBSOLETE.txt file where anything removed is listed with commit ids of the remove).

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.