Zoom, zoom… sliding in and out with Okteta

Remember the days when some people considered KDE4 to be in the land of Hurd and Duke Nukem Forever? Now already KDE 4.2 is just around the corner, and looking greater then ever. I am so happy there is the Oxygen team with KDE πŸ™‚ And the storm-resistent Plasma people are really pushing the desktop to new highs. Plus KWin is really stunning (even for the poor people stuck with XRender, or can I do more with my Ati Rv 250? How exactly?)

Also in the module of the KDE Utilities, kdeutils, things have moved forward: Ark and KGpg have seen a lot of improvements and fixes, thanks to Harald Hvaal and Yew Ming Chen for Ark and Rolf Eike Beer for KGpg. Then David Johnson has given KCalc more love, and Michael Leupold has brought KWallet in the kdelibs and the KDE Wallet Manager into a usable state again. Furthermore Okteta has been advanced by me.

For most developers though KDE 4.2 is already history again. KDE 4.3 is the next goal.
Some new things have also been committed for Okteta already, including the next brilliant and unique feature in the land of hex editors (it’s rather fun stuff πŸ˜‰ ):
Know the problem of having your colleagues looking over shoulders onto your screen to get something presented, but they cannot decipher anything due to the longer distance from the screen?

See this strange three letters here?

Okteta with zoom of 100 %

No? Wait… *zoom, zoom with the slider* Here!

Okteta with zoom of 313 %

Making it possible to adjust your tools to your needs, isn’t that the core idea of FLOSS? πŸ™‚

PS: Sure, you can zoom the view in Okteta since its first release in KDE 4.1, but it’s hidden in the menu for most, or did you know about Ctrl+[+]/[-]?

3 thoughts on “Zoom, zoom… sliding in and out with Okteta

  1. Hello,

    I’m using okteta during my development quite often and think it is very useful and comfortable to work with besides some little annoying bugs (copy&paste seems not to work in my version 0.2.1 on KDE 4.2.0 “release 102”, I select some text/hex data in the hex editor, click on the copy button but nothing seems to get copied?)

    One feature I want to propose you to add to it is an entry in the tool menu that you can click onto and then it does something with the part of the hex file that is currently selecte. For example it could calculate the adler32 or crc32 checksum of the selecte data, calculate the MD5 or SHA256 checksum and much more. This could be implemented in a plugin-style. Maybe you have already tought of that?

    Although it looks like an interesting thing to do, I currently have not enough time to implement it. Maybe I’ll do so later, but not in the next months πŸ™‚ But I think this would make the tool become much more useful then it already is πŸ™‚

  2. Thanks for the comment πŸ™‚
    Copy just copies the raw data currently, which e.g. Klipper does not show, the ignorant program, even if the data is in the clipboard (Hm, perhaps I should hack/tease Klipper a little…). Just do insert in a bytearray view and see that it works. If you need the value or text rendering of the bytes, please use Edit>Copy as… for now. For future versions I plan to also add the currently focused value/text rendering as alternative data for the clipboard in the plain copy, as this is what many users expect (even I meanwhile πŸ™‚ ).
    Regarding the checksum plugin, sure I thought of that. πŸ™‚ All I need is to write a guide how to create new plugins, finally.
    And then it is really up to you or others to scratch this itch. Someone has to do it, best someone needing it, and I currently do not need checksum calculation. πŸ˜‰
    Should be straight forward with the modularized architecture of Okteta. Okay, plugin guide now moved some entries up in my TODO list, should be done by end of March, so please consider tackling this little problem e.g. in April, I will be happy to help you.

  3. Hi,

    Thank you for the clarifications. I must admit that I never thought of the actual raw data being copied, I always expected it to be copied in text πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

