Okteta@Akademy 2008

The seven days of Akademy 2008 have passed quickly. Everything felt so smooth, seemed well balanced, nothing was really annoying (besides a sometimes jittering net access, but that’s it). The organisators must have really done an excellent work. Even the weather was fine. And the local team was very responsive and helpful all the time (even not moaning if contacted when already gone to bed). So once again thanks to all who were responsible! Especially because it was unpaid for almost all!

Now that the dust settles I think the most interesting thing I learned was the power of dtrace, during the OpenSolaris BoF: just handle an object of your interest as a virtual machine, plug into the interface, and voilà, create data in the dtrace fomat which can then be handled by the dtrace tools. And those are really powerful, too. Just too much CLI for my taste 🙂 I really need to spare some time to learn more about dtrace.

Another interesting thing for me, as author of Okteta, was trying Okteta for the first time myself on Windows and OS X. While I do not really care for these platforms, I am still impressed they are supported, too, without me writing any special code for them, besides staying with the abstraction layers of Qt and KDE and using the proper CMake macros in the buildsystem. So Patrick Spendrin, one of the culprits for the Windows platform support, let me play with Okteta on Windows:

Okteta 0.1 running on Windows XP
Okteta 0.1 running on Windows XP

And Alexander Neundorf was so kind to have it built and run on his OS X-powered machine:

Okteta 0.1 running on OS X
Okteta 0.1 running on OS X

A minor problem is that on OS X it dies often if opening a filedialog (also seen with e.g. KMail, so this should be a problem in kdelibs). Both platforms are still experimental as of now, but I expect at least for KDE 4.2 official support, given the interest and the work done already.

Okteta is part of the KDE module kdeutils, which I have become the coordinator of. So it was also nice to get to know some of the other kdeutils developers face-to-face. See Jonathan Riddell’s blog for a group photo.

Another group photo is not online yet. It shows those of the city with the most representatives, which is Dresden in Germany. Or is there any other city which had more than 5 people coming from it (besides Oslo)? Hm, this is a statistic question, should be sent directly to Paul Adams, I guess 😉 Then the usefulness of a number like committers per city is in question: Does that town lack cultural offerings? Or does it have too many, so one is being spoilt by the choice? Is there just a greater mismatch between the genders? Or is the sun more glaring and the birds more noisy? No idea. If the KDE Research team is out of tasks, I will approach them with this.

I am less satisfied with my own performance at Akademy. I did not manage to achieve what I wanted to. So in the end I should have done more talking and socializing instead of sitting all the time in front of my laptop until late in the night. I got somewhere with the work on the new feature, but till Friday afternoon, when the WLAN was cut off exactly at 17 h, I rather found some little flaws in my design again, which took all of the time (as to be expected). Following you can see what Okteta currently looks like on my system, with some helper environment added for the feature in development:

Connecting models...
Okteta: Connecting models...
If it works one day, I think it will be not only cool, but a start to more. Until then just guess what it will be 🙂

So another lesson learned: Talk, don’t hack, at Akademy. Let’s rename Hackathon to something else, to not mislead dummies like me.

5 thoughts on “Okteta@Akademy 2008

  1. Hi,

    what I really miss from is the possibility to change the column width to your liking (like 1024 bytes or whatever). khexedit did support this.

    I am working with data files which have a 128 byte header, followed by some data (e.g. 4096 byte) and another 128 byte header + data and so on. It is very useful to set the column width to 4096+128 byte so that the header data and the rest of the data are aligned vertically.

    Any plans on implementing this yet?

  2. Hi Philipp, you are right, would be nice to edit the value directly by a control. Not planned for KDE 4.2. But for sure sometimes, I would like it, too. Might be implemented as a tool plugin. If one is interested to try to do that himself, I will lend a hand. Have a look somewhere in okteta/program/oktetakakao/controllers/view, there in viewconfig/ to see how to control the view basically, and in stringsextract/ to see how to write a tool.

    For now, see the menu entry View->Resize Style for the option to control the width by the width of the window (then set to No Resize to lock it). Only gets forgotten after closing the document. And there is still a column header missing for the view, where you could see the column offset ( 0 1 2 3 4 …).

Leave a Reply

