Final Okteta features for KDE 4.1

By becoming module coordinator for kdeutils I had to shift my time from hacking on Okteta to some module coordination. And that with the date of the hard feature freeze coming closer, oh well.

But the big cleanup of the module was finished just in time to get two more features done for Okteta:

  • a strings extract tool
  • an export facility

The first is roughly done, simply surprises me with new problems over and over. The latter is rushed in, ignoring some concepts I have with the Kakao framework, but works for now. And still has some smartness, as it reuses the encoder classes which are used for “Copy as…” (thanks to the QIODevice abstraction).

In the process I moved a very old, but well hidden feature to a visible place: the ability to copy the current selection as the view rendered to plain text. I still remember how I did it in 2003 in Novรฉ Hrady, when I was new to all the KDE development, yet sitting in the same computer room with all the famous KDE guys, how exciting for me. I showed it there to Josef (Spillner), next to Tobias (Kรถnig) one of my two leaders from Dresden. Besides him nobody might have ever noticed it, because you only triggered it if you dragged a selection from the value column of the Okteta part, which itself only a few might have used (KPilot generic database editor, KDevelop debugger view, …). Touching personal history, oh well… ๐Ÿ™‚

\"Extract strings\" as a new feature and \"Copy view rendered to plain text\" as old, but now visible

Selecting the shown menu entry adds this to the clipboard, using all the settings of the view (except for “Show unprintable chars”, for a good reason):


0002:D0E0 |                 2F 68 6F  6D 65 2F 6B  6F 64 65 72 |      /home/koder
0002:D0F0 | 2F 4B 6F 64  65 2F 6B 64  65 73 76 6E  2F 74 72 75 | /Kode/kdesvn/tru
0002:D100 | 6E 6B 2F 4B  44 45 2F 62  75 69 6C 64  2E 64 65 62 | nk/KDE/build.deb
0002:D110 | 75 67 2F 6B  64 65 75 74  69 6C 73 2F  6F 6B 74 65 | ug/kdeutils/okte
0002:D120 | 74 61 2F 63  6F 72 65 2F  6F 6B 74 65  74 61 63 6F | ta/core/oktetaco
0002:D130 | 72 65 5F 61  75 74 6F 6D  6F 63 2E 63  70 70       | re_automoc.cpp  

There is one more feature I would have liked to get done for KDE 4.1, but which won’t make it now: support for very large files. Is rescheduled for KDE 4.2. Until then just do not load too large files! I should perhaps add a warning to the file selector.

11 thoughts on “Final Okteta features for KDE 4.1

  1. “View rendered to Plain Text”

    That’s very confusing, please consider rephrasing it.

    Thanks for your work.

  2. @Erlend: Depends on the size of your memory. I am looking for a good measure.

    @Anders: I think the same and prepared Okteta for this. I just did not manage to do it in time. Thanks for the link, will have a look how Hexfiend solved the problem.

    @Noname: Please help me with rephrasing. This is the best I found so far.

  3. @Richard: Good guess, I guess ๐Ÿ™‚ But that is just part of the problem. You also want to lock the file as you do not have a complete copy in the working memory. You want to support insert or remove operations, which are more difficult to save back to the file as you need to move all the stuff around. How to deal with very large remote files? Etc. … I see a lot of problems I want to give more thinking before I start the coding. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. For rephrasing, my suggestion is “Values and Plain Text”, since apparently that is what you are doing. Or maybe that will leave out the offset column. Then say: “Offset, values and plain text” or “All displayed columns”.

  5. Are there any news regarding Okteta for windows?
    In fact, I don’t see kdeutils in the KDE windows installer.
    Is there any way to install it on windows?

    My boss makes me work on windows but I’d still like to use my favorite tools ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Hi Elez, no idea about the state of Okteta for Windows, as I do not care for that platform, sorry. At http://techbase.kde.org/Projects/KDE_on_Windows you might find some more places to ask for things, but please be polite, there are only very few people working on this. Perhaps you can even help? ๐Ÿ™‚
    And then is editing in the value column currently pretty much broken by design, needs some time to fix the design.

  7. Thank you for the quick response.

    I think I’ll install a virtualized Kubuntu and use Okteta on files I put on a shared folder or something because I have no idea what the guys over at the kde-windows mailing list are talking about ๐Ÿ™‚
    I just GOTTA be able to use Okteta’s awesome “Decoding Table”. Would save me heaps of time ๐Ÿ™‚

    p.s. I know what you mean. If (when?) I start developing some KDE app, I wouldn’t bother at all making it work on windows. Personally, I don’t have windows at all…

Leave a Reply

