Personality, not underwritten

A lot of the helper variables in Okteta are named byte. No problem, as this is no keyword in C++. Instead the name for the type representing a single byte, that is eight bits today, is char (are there any current machines, where this isn’t true?). So all byte arrays are treated as arrays of char,
following QByteArray, which also operates on char.

When implementing a rotation filter I used byte >> width. And wondered why this didn’t yield the expected results. Looking at them more closely (of course one can switch to the display of the binary values in Okteta) it triggered that what I see is an arithmetic right shift (which happily adds a leading 1 again, if the unshifted byte had there one, to keep it a negative value. Sure, I knew about this before. But it’s nothing that I have present in my mind. Why should it be?

After all… what do names mean? What should I think of, if I hear “unsigned character”?

Oh, those legacy. I want ++++C, sometime.

Filter tool of course now also dockable, rejoice about another screenshot:
Filter tool for Okteta available

One thought on “Personality, not underwritten

  1. Nice program there! I happened to stumble here while searching for khexedit. Great to hear it is getting more features and a new name. While you are at it, I would like to suggest you include a visual binary diff tool. Being able to show the differences between two files would be great to have in a hex editor.

Leave a Reply

