Wanted: developers/users of phone programs

Do you use or develop a program to phone right from your computer? Then I want your help. By answering these questions:

  • What is your program?
  • How can I control your program from another process? E.g. start a call, get signalled about an incoming call, accept the incoming call, close a call, etc.? Can I do so by DCOP, DBus, or something else?
  • Does the program use the KDE addressbook to store the numbers?
  • What kind of numbers are there for the different phone systems? What format do the numbers use?
  • Can you do conference calls?
  • Would you like to help writing some plugins to support your program?

I ask because I want to create new or improve the existing phoning plugins for the Contacts framework. For KDE 4 such things might best to be done within Kopete, Decibel, Tapioca & Co., but for KDE 3 I want to support this by service plugins in the before mentioned framework.

So one can click on a number on a Contact card and have the action service signal the phone program to start a call. Or do this from the action menu of a contact button in the Contacts applet for Kicker.

For Instant messaging Will Stephenson wrote the general framework KIMProxy, which does all the work, so writing plugins for this was simple. For phoning nothing like this exists, and as I don’t phone right from the computer right now, I cannot test myself. But I would like to see what interaction models there are, so I can extend the Contacts framework to fit.

And BTW: Yesterday I uploaded a new mini release of the Contacts stuff to kde-apps.org. The framework code, the applet and the card server are now splitted into three different packages. And the applet features support for actions on lists of contacts, like emailing or sending a file (currently only available if all contacts have the property needed, e.g. an email address). So get it while it’s hot! 😉

6 thoughts on “Wanted: developers/users of phone programs

  1. What is your program?
    Skype
    How can I control your program from another process? E.g. start a call, get signalled about an incoming call, accept the incoming call, close a call, etc.? Can I do so by DCOP, DBus, or something else?
    DBus
    Does the program use the KDE addressbook to store the numbers?
    No.
    What kind of numbers are there for the different phone systems? What format do the numbers use?
    Skype names, also normal telephone numbers if you have credits for calling to regular phones.
    Can you do conference calls?
    Yes.
    Would you like to help writing some plugins to support your program?
    No skills for doing such stuff atm.

    Hope that helped.

  2. Thanks for the comments, and especially liquidat for actually answering my questions 🙂 Seems I have to go out and find some more answers myself for the rest, though.

  3. Since long time ago I’ve created a program in Windows to keep my contacts and dial phone numbers.
    The problem is that there is nothing yet that can work as well in keeping multiple contacts as my program, because all PIM (KaddressBook included) use an old approach based on technology limitation of palm devices of some decades ago.
    Please have a look at my feature request:
    https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=110350
    and write me privately if you are interested and need some clarification.

Leave a Reply

